The finalists for the 2019 Vodafone New Zealand Music Awards have just been announced, with alternative artists including Aldous Harding, The Beths, Troy Kingi and Avantdale Bowling Club leading the pack.

Nineteen-year-old pop sensation Benee is also nominated for four awards:  Best Solo Artist, Breakthrough Artist of the Year, Best Pop Artist and Single of the Year for ‘Soaked’.

Benee’s debut single ‘Soaked’, released in September 2018, has been streamed over 24 million times. She released her debut EP Fire On Marzz in June this year and she’s been touring extensively in New Zealand and abroad.

Founded by the legendary Kora brothers Brad and Stu, L.A.B. are finalists for Best Group and Best Roots Artist. The group have established a name for themselves as a cornerstone of the Kiwi summer circuit.

Their unique blend of soulful-rock and electronic-funk continues on their second album L.A.B II released at the end of last year.

10 March 2018 The Bay of Plenty Times Photograph by Andrew Warner.

Full list of finalists:

Album of the Year | Te Pukaemi o te Tau

  • Aldous Harding – Designer
  • Avantdale Bowling Club – Avantdale Bowling Club
  • The Beths – Future Me Hates Me
  • Broods – Don’t Feed The Pop Monster
  • Mitch James – Mitch James
  • Marlon Williams – Live at Auckland Town Hall

Vodafone Single of the Year | Te Waiata Tōtahi o te Tau

  • Aldous Harding – ‘The Barrell’
  • BENEE – ‘Soaked’
  • The Beths – ‘Little Death’
  • Church & AP – ‘Ready or Not’
  • Drax Project – ‘All This Time’
  • Six60 – ‘The Greatest’

Best Group | Te Roopu Toa

  • Beastwars – IV
  • The Beths – Future Me Hates Me
  • Broods – Don’t Feed The Pop Monster
  • L.A.B. – L.A.B. II

THREE Best Solo Artist | Te Kaipuoro Takitahi Toa

  • Aldous Harding – Designer
  • Avantdale Bowling Club – Avantdale Bowling Club
  • Mitch James – Mitch James

Smirnoff Breakthrough Artist of the Year | Te Kaituhura Puoro Toa o te Tau

  • The Beths
  • Church & AP

Te Māngai Pāho Best Māori Artist | Te Kaipuoro Māori Toa

  • Louis Baker
  • Rei
  • Troy Kingi

The Edge Best Pop Artist | Te Kaipuoro Arotini Toa

  • Broods
  • Mitch James

Best Alternative Artist | Te Kaipuoro Manohi Toa

  • Aldous Harding
  • The Beths
  • Tiny Ruins

Best Soul/RnB Artist | Te Kaipuoro Awe Toa

  • Bailey Wiley
  • Louis Baker
  • Rei

Best Hip Hop Artist | Te Kaipuoro Hipihope Toa

  • Avantdale Bowling Club
  • Church & AP
  • Diggy Dupè

Best Roots Artist | Te Kaipuoro Taketake Toa

  • L.A.B
  • Lost Tribe Aotearoa
  • Troy Kingi

Best Electronic Artist | Te Kaipuoro Tāhiko Toa

  • Pacific Heights
  • Sweet Mix Kids
  • TALI

Best Rock Artist | Te Kaipuoro Rakapioi Toa

  • Beastwars
  • Racing
  • Villainy

Best Worship Artist | Te Kaipuoro Kairangi Toa

  • Equippers Worship
  • Harbourside Worship
  • Jules Riding

Best Classical Artist | Te Kaipuoro Inamata Toa

  • The Linkwood Guitar Duo
  • Michael Houstoun & Bella Hristova
  • Simon O’Neill

Music Teacher of the Year | Kaiārahi Puoro o te Tau

  • Duncan Ferguson – St Andrews College, Christchurch
  • Jane Egan – Gisborne Girls High School, Gisborne
  • Sue Banham – Rosehill College, Papakura, Auckland

Legacy Award | Tohu Whakareretanga
Th’ Dudes

Additional Tuis presented in 2019

Best Folk Artist | Te Kaipuoro Taketake Toa

  • Winner: The Frank Burkitt Band – Raconteur
  • Great North – The Golden Age
  • Jono Heyes – 9 Pilgrims

Best Pacific Music Album | Te Pukaemi Toa o Te Moana Nui a Kiwa

  • Winner: Tomorrow People – BBQ Reggae
  • Kings – Lov3 & 3go
  • SWIDT – The Most Electrifying

Best Country Artist | Te Kaipuoro Tuawhenua Toa

  • Winner: Jenny Mitchell – Wildfires
  • Jamie McDell – Extraordinary Girl
  • Tami Neilson – Sassafrass!

Best Jazz Artist | Te Kaipuoro Tautito Toa

  • Winner: GRG67 – The Thing
  • Antipodes – Good Winter
  • Dog – No Dogs Allowed

Best Children’s Artist | Te Kaipuoro Waiata Tamariki Toa

  • Winner: Craig Smith – Not Just For Kids 2
  • Marian Burns – Songs For Kids
  • Anna van Riel – Fishing For Stars

The Vodafone NZ Music Awards will be held on November 14 at Auckland’s Spark Arena


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here